Getting Hungry

February 20, 2012 at 3:14 pm Leave a comment

Only one month to go until the Hunger Games movie, people! Come to the library and enjoy the book again (or for the first time!) before March 23. It’s funny, I decided to reread the first book myself and I noticed so many things this time around that I’d totally forgotten. I feel like I had only remembered Katniss’ strength and bravery, but now I’m noticing all of her vulnerabilities and the small ways she showed the softer side that she’d hidden for so long back in District 12.  Also, it re-energized my anger against the Capitol!

According to an article today on mtv.com, director Gary Ross says “It’s very, very faithful in the literal sense, but it’s even more faithful in the tonal sense.  My job is to give you that same visceral feeling you felt when you read the book.”  I’m so happy to hear that!!! That feeling is what I most want to come through, followed closely by the many sides of Kaniss. I want her to be strong, but not hard, vulnerable but not weak. If they can deliver THAT, I’ll be happy.  According to the article, Suzanne Collins collaborated on the script, which makes me even more excited to see it.  Read the whole article at mtv.com.

Katie

Entry filed under: movies.

The Isle of Blood Journals

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About the Library


Winfield Public Library
0S291 Winfield Rd.
Winfield, IL 60190
630.653.7599
www.winfield.lib.il.us

Visit our other pages:
Book Lists
Homework Help
Library Programs - Register Online
Search the Library's Catalog

About Me

I'm your blogger, Katie. I've been working at Winfield Library for 12 years. If you have ideas about how I can make our teen services better, comment me or email me!

Past Posts

Where Are You?

Who's Visiting Us Now

  • 181,793 hits

Feed Me!


