Book Reviews by Teens

January 20, 2011 at 9:00 am Leave a comment

I asked everyone who participated in our winter reading program to tell me what book out of the six they read was their favorite and why.  Here are a few of the reviews:

Sleepaway Girls by Jen Calonita
Reviewed by Joelle
It’s the perfect, ideal summer every girl wants.  Its got teenage love and the challenges of friendship.  Any girl that’s ever wanted to go to camp or has gone to camp should read this book.
The One by Ed Decter
Reviewed by Molly
The One was my favorite book because it gave me a peek at what it takes to become a big star.
FullMetal Alchemist by Hiromu Arakawa
Reviewed by Katherine
My favorite book of these six is FullMetal Alchemist because of its interesting storyline and twists in the plot.  I also like it because I find the theory of two worlds living parallel to each other very interesting & probable.
Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard
Reviewed by Sera
I liked Pretty Little Liars, because it was interesting enough that I read it in one night.  Now I’m just trying to get my hands on the second book!
Flavor of the Week by Tucker Shaw
Reviewed by Deanne
This book was my favorite because after each chapter, it gave a recipe to cook.  It also explained how good the food was and it went well with the story.  The recipe for cookies that was found in the first chapter is definitely something I want to try making.
Salute the Dark by Adrian Tchaikovsky
Reviewed by Christopher
I find Salute the Dark to be the strongest of the books I read.  Tchaikovsky seamlessly blends technology and magic as well as showing how technology affected the development of not only warfare but civilizations themselves. (Note from Katie:  This book is not in the teen section, but the science fiction section, so check there if you want to read it for yourself!)
Entry filed under: book lists, book reviews, winter reading.

Congratulations! YA Book Award Winners

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About the Library


Winfield Public Library
0S291 Winfield Rd.
Winfield, IL 60190
630.653.7599
www.winfield.lib.il.us

Visit our other pages:
Book Lists
Homework Help
Library Programs - Register Online
Search the Library's Catalog

About Me

I'm your blogger, Katie. I've been working at Winfield Library for 12 years. If you have ideas about how I can make our teen services better, comment me or email me!

Past Posts

Where Are You?

Who's Visiting Us Now

  • 181,688 hits

Feed Me!


