Honoring Veterans Day

November 11, 2010 at 5:51 pm Leave a comment

If you don’t have any plans this Veterans Day, try to make it over to our own First Division Museum at Cantigny Park to find out about the First Division,  “the oldest continuously active division in the US Army today” and learn more about America’s military past and the role of America’s soldiers in history.  

Cantigny recently released a statement on behalf of Frank W. Buckles, America’s last surviving World War I veteran, who called for a national WWI Memorial to be constructed to honor those who served.  At age 109, it’s amazing to think of what Buckles has lived through and the changes he’s seen in America and throughout the world.  Gives you something to think about this Veterans Day.

If you have a veteran or active member of the military in your family, give them a shout-out in the comments!  I’ll give mine to both my grandfathers, my uncle Sid, and my friends Chris and Katherine who all served in the military.

Katie

Entry filed under: NaBloPoMo10.

Step Into My Web Sign Up Today for Iron Chef

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About the Library


Winfield Public Library
0S291 Winfield Rd.
Winfield, IL 60190
630.653.7599
www.winfield.lib.il.us

Visit our other pages:
Book Lists
Homework Help
Library Programs - Register Online
Search the Library's Catalog

About Me

I'm your blogger, Katie. I've been working at Winfield Library for 12 years. If you have ideas about how I can make our teen services better, comment me or email me!

Past Posts

Where Are You?

Who's Visiting Us Now

  • 180,291 hits

Feed Me!


